Klimabonus

In 2022, a new chapter begins for climate protection in Austria: A price is being put on climate-damaging CO2 and climate-friendly behaviour is being rewarded. If you take care of our climate, you will keep more of the Klimabonus in your wallet. Due to the hike in the cost of living, this year’s bonus has been increased to provide relief for people in Austria.

Current information on the payout

The Klimabonus and anti-inflation bonus were paid out to the majority of people living in Austria between August and October 2022. The processing for the second wave of payments from February 2023 is already in full swing. This is not the new Klimabonus for the year 2023, but rather people are receiving the Klimabonus who only moved their main residence to Austria in the course of the first half of 2022 or who actually happened to be born here. This is because they now also fulfil the basic requirement for the Klimabonus: Namely 183 days of main residence in Austria. For non-Austrian citizens, legal resident status is also required (Klimabonus Act, Section 2).

Problems with the automated entitlement check by the Ministry of the Interior were encountered by some groups of EU citizens or third-country nationals in the first wave of payments. These persons will also receive their Klimabonus from February 2023.

More info is available in our FAQs.

What is the Klimabonus?

A bonus payment. For everyone living in Austria. The money comes from the CO2 revenue, which will be introduced from October 2022.

Who gets the Klimabonus?

Everyone. Everyone who has their main residence in Austria for at least six months in the year of entitlement receives the Klimabonus – regardless of citizenship and age. Non-Austrian citizens need legal resident status (Klimabonus Act, Section 2).

How do you get it?

Automatically. The Klimabonus is transferred directly to your account or sent you by post. In 2022 it will be paid out as from the beginning of September.

And how much do you get?

€500 or €250. In 2022 all adults will get €500. Minors get half. From 2023 the amount of the Klimabonus payout depends on the region of your main residence.

7,414,021 people have received the bank transfer.
1,269,835 This many vouchers have been sent.
3,987,017,000 € have been paid out in total.
Updated on Monday, 12/19/2022, 09:51 AM 

The Klimabonus: What's behind it

October 2022 marked the beginning of a new chapter for climate protection in Austria: With the eco-social tax reform, a price has been put on climate-damaging CO2.

The additional money flows directly back to the people in the form of the Klimabonus. Climate-friendly behaviour is rewarded. The Klimabonus is paid out annually and goes to everyone who has had their main residence in Austria for at least 183 days in the year of entitlement – adults as well as children, regardless of origin and citizenship. Non-Austrian citizens need legal resident status (Klimabonus Act, Section 2).

2022: An exceptional year

Due to prevailing inflation and the associated rise in prices, the Klimabonus was increased as a one-off to EUR 500 for all adults in 2022. Children and young people up to 18 years of age received half the amount, i.e. EUR 250.

What next?

From 2023, the Klimabonus will vary based on the region you live in — as originally intended. The amount will then depend on how good the infrastructure and public transport connections are at your place of residence. One thing is certain: Those who opt for climate-friendly behaviour will now have more of the Klimabonus in their pockets.

Switching to climate-friendly alternatives is not always possible in some regions of Austria, as infrastructure or public transport has not yet been developed sufficiently. The amount of the Klimabonus therefore always depends on your main place of residence.

Further information on the eco-social tax reform and the CO2 pricing can be found here.

More Information

How it works

The Klimabonus goes to about 9 million people. To make this as quick and easy as possible, the Klimabonus is paid out in two different ways: By bank transfer to your account or as a voucher by post. Because the post office has to send a lot of registered letters, it takes several weeks to get them out.

The most important thing to remember is that you don’t have to do anything to get the Klimabonus.

There are two payout methods:

Fast and simple: The Klimabonus goes straight to your account

If you regularly receive money from the State, you don't have to do anything. The Klimabonus will be transfered automatically. This applies, for example, to pensioners, child benefit recipients and those who receive special allowances.

All those whose current account number is stored in FinanzOnline, will also receive their bonus automatically. This includes everyone who uses FinanzOnline to settle their annual taxes electronically.

Since the Klimabonus will now be paid out once a year, the account data provided is also checked annually on a fixed cut-off date. For the year 2022, this cut-off date was 22 July. If your account data on FinanzOnline was not up-to-date on that day, the Klimabonus will be sent by post this year in the form of a voucher.

Nevertheless, be sure to check and update your account data on FinanzOnline in order to receive the money directly into your account from 2023. This can be done in three simple steps:

Step 1

Visit FinanzOnline at:

Step 2

Log in with your smartphone signature, citizen card or your FinanzOnline access data.

Step 3

Enter your current IBAN under bank details.

Click on "Change" at the bottom right to save the data.

You can register here if you do not have access, or you do not have a smartphone signature yet.

Please follow the instructions on the link.



Alternative: The Klimabonus comes as a voucher by post

Don't have an account? Then you will get the Klimabonus sent to your main residence. The safest way is the RSa letter, which is only delivered to you in person or can be collected at the post office with a photo ID.

If you are expecting a voucher but are usually not at home, there is a way to save yourself a trip to the post office: Grant a proxy so that any person of legal age in your household can receive the Klimabonus on your behalf.

  1. Fill out the Klimabonus Proxy form.
    Important: Don’t forget to include the ID details and the signature!
  2. Keep the proxy form in a safe place, one where it is easy to access.
  3. When the delivery person arrives with the Klimabonus, the proxy just needs to show the signed proxy form and the respective ID in order to receive the Klimabonus on your behalf.

If nobody is at home when the delivery person calls, the Klimabonus will be safely deposited at the nearest post office and you will be informed as to where you can pick it up. Please note: The Klimabonus can then only be collected in person. The proxy is not valid here.

The vouchers can be redeemed anywhere from the supermarket to the bookshop to thousands of stores or exchanged for cash at our bank partner.

To find out where, click here:

Partner

Here you can search for businesses in your area or specific shops. The search is conducted in the Sodexo database. To do this, your request must be submitted to Sodexo.

For more information, please see our Data Protection Policy.

Perhaps you have a shop or business and want to become a partner that accepts the Klimabonus voucher?

Use the following link to register your company as a redemption point:

Sodexo Registration

How much you get

In 2022 the Klimabonus will be €500 for all adults and €250 for children up to the age of 18.

This amount is a one-off increase in the Klimabonus due to current inflation levels and the related price hikes.

Also in the coming years everyone with a main residence in Austria will receive a Klimabonus annually. For non-Austrian citizens, legal residency status is required (in accordance with KliBG §2). From 2023, the amount will depend on your main residence, in line with the original plan.

Still have questions?

Contact

Our service team is available to answer any enquiries. Please note that contact is made in German.

0800 8000 80
Monday – Friday, 8am – 6pm

Contact

Klimabonus

2022 beginnt ein neues Kapitel für den Klimaschutz in Österreich: Klimaschädliches CO2 erhält einen Preis und klimafreundliches Verhalten wird belohnt. Denn wer auf unser Klima schaut, dem bleibt mehr vom Klimabonus im Börsel. Aufgrund der aktuellen Teuerungen wird der Bonus heuer zusätzlich angehoben, um die Menschen in Österreich zu entlasten.

Aktuelle Informationen zur Auszahlung

Der Klimabonus und Anti-Teuerungsbonus wurden zwischen August und Oktober 2022 an den Großteil der in Österreich lebenden Menschen ausbezahlt. Im Februar 2023 wird es eine weitere Auszahlungswelle geben. Dabei handelt es sich nicht um den neuen Klimabonus für das Jahr 2023, sondern es bekommen dann auch jene Menschen den Klimabonus, die erst im Laufe des ersten Halbjahres 2022 ihren Hauptwohnsitz nach Österreich verlegt haben oder gar erst geboren wurden. Denn auch sie erfüllen jetzt die Grundvoraussetzung für den Klimabonus: nämlich 183 Tage Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich. Bei nicht-österreichischen Staatsbürger:innen ist ein rechtmäßiger Aufenthaltsstatus nötig (gem KliBG §2).

Sie sind kein:e österreichische:r Staatsbürger:in und haben den Klimabonus noch nicht, obwohl Sie die oben genannte Grundvoraussetzung erfüllen? Keine Sorge, auch Sie erhalten den Klimabonus. Bei einigen Gruppen von EU-Staatsbürger:innen bzw. Drittstaatsangehörigen kommt es derzeit noch zu Problemen bei der automatisierten Anspruchsprüfung durch das Innenministerium. Die Auszahlung erfolgt ab Februar 2023.

Aktuell laufen die Nachbearbeitungen von einzelnen Sonderfällen. Hat die Auszahlung oder Zustellung der Gutscheine nicht funktioniert, wird der Klimabonus in den kommenden Wochen übermittelt. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren FAQs.

Was ist der Klimabonus?

Eine Bonuszahlung. Alle in Österreich lebenden Menschen bekommen sie. Das Geld kommt unter anderem aus den Einnahmen des CO2-Preises, der im Oktober 2022 eingeführt wurde.

Wer bekommt den Klimabonus?

Alle. Den Klimabonus bekommen alle Menschen, die Ihren Hauptwohnsitz 2022 für mindestens sechs Monate in Österreich haben — unabhängig von Staatsbürgerschaft und Alter. Nicht-österreichische Staatsbürger:innen benötigen einen rechtmäßigen Aufenthaltsstatus (gem KliBG §2).

Was muss man dafür tun?

Nichts. Sind Ihre Kontodaten auf FinanzOnline aktuell, wird Ihnen der Klimabonus direkt aufs Konto überwiesen. Alternativ wird er als Gutschein zugeschickt.

Und wie viel bekommt man?

500€ oder 250€. Wegen der Teuerung bekommen 2022 alle Erwachsenen 500€. Für Kinder und Jugendliche gibt es die Hälfte. Ab 2023 ist die Höhe des Klimabonus von Ihrem Hauptwohnsitz abhängig.

7.414.021 Menschen wurde der Klimabonus überwiesen.
1.269.835 Gutscheine wurden verschickt.
3.987.017.000 € wurden insgesamt ausbezahlt.
Aktualisiert am Donnerstag, 01.12.2022, 16:49 

Der Klimabonus: Das steckt dahinter

Ab Oktober 2022 beginnt ein neues Kapitel für den Klimaschutz in Österreich: Mit der ökosozialen Steuerreform bekommt klimaschädliches CO2 einen Preis.

Das zusätzliche Geld fließt in Form des Klimabonus direkt an die Menschen zurück. Klimafreundliches Verhalten wird dabei belohnt. Der Klimabonus wird jährlich ausbezahlt und geht an alle Menschen, die ihren Hauptwohnsitz mindestens sechs Monate im Jahr in Österreich haben — Erwachsene genauso wie Kinder, unabhängig von Herkunft und Staatsbürgerschaft. Nicht-österreichische Staatsbürger:innen benötigen einen rechtmäßigen Aufenthaltsstatus (gem KliBG §2).

2022: Ein außergewöhnliches Jahr

Aufgrund der aktuellen Inflation und den damit verbundenen steigenden Preisen, wird der Klimabonus 2022 einmalig auf 500 Euro für alle Erwachsenen aufgestockt. Für Kinder und Jugendliche bis 18 Jahre gibt es die Hälfte, also 250 Euro.

So geht es weiter

Ab 2023 wird der Klimabonus regional gestaffelt — so wie es ursprünglich gedacht war. Seine Höhe hängt dann davon ab, wie gut die Infrastruktur und die öffentliche Anbindung am eigenen Wohnort sind. Grundsätzlich gilt: Wer auf klimafreundliches Verhalten setzt, dem bleibt mehr vom Klimabonus im Geldbörserl. Da der Umstieg auf klimafreundliche Alternativen in einigen Regionen Österreich aktuell jedoch noch schwer fällt, wird dort der Klimabonus auch höher ausfallen.

Weitere Informationen zur ökosozialen Steuerreform und der CO2 Bepreisung finden Sie hier:

Weitere Informationen

So geht's

Der Klimabonus geht an etwa 9 Millionen Menschen. Um das so schnell und einfach wie möglich umzusetzen, wird der Klimabonus auf zwei unterschiedliche Arten ausbezahlt: per Überweisung aufs Konto oder als Gutschein per Post.

Die Auszahlungen beginnen Anfang September 2022. Weil die Post dabei sehr viele, sichere Briefe verschicken muss, wird der Versand einige Wochen in Anspruch nehmen.

Das Wichtigste dabei: Sie müssen nichts tun, um den Klimabonus zu erhalten.

Erfahren Sie mehr zu den zwei Auszahlungsarten

Schnell und unbürokratisch: Der Klimabonus kommt direkt aufs Konto

Wer regelmäßig vom Staat Geld überwiesen bekommt, muss gar nichts machen. Der Klimabonus wird einfach überwiesen. Das betrifft zum Beispiel Pensionierte und Menschen, die Pflegegeld oder Kindergeld erhalten.

Alle, deren aktuelle Kontonummer beispielsweise bei FinanzOnline hinterlegt ist, bekommen ihren Bonus auch unbürokratisch überwiesen. In der Regel sind das alle, die über FinanzOnline ihren Jahressteuerausgleich machen.

Da der Klimabonus ab sofort einmal pro Jahr ausgezahlt wird, werden auch die aktuellen Kontodaten jährlich an einem festgelegten Stichtag geprüft. Für das Jahr 2022 war dieser Stichtag der 22. Juli. Waren die Kontodaten auf FinanzOnline am Stichtag nicht aktuell, so wird der Klimabonus heuer in Form eines Gutscheins per Post zugesandt.

Prüfen und aktualisieren Sie dennoch Ihre Kontodaten auf FinanzOnline, um ab 2023 das Geld direkt aufs Konto zu bekommen. Das geht in drei einfachen Schritten:

Schritt 1

Besuchen Sie FinanzOnline:

Schritt 2

Loggen Sie sich mit Ihrer Handysignatur, Bürgerkarte oder Ihren FinanzOnline Zugangsdaten ein.

Schritt 3

Tragen Sie unter Bankverbindung Ihren aktuellen IBAN ein. Klicken Sie rechts unten auf Ändern um die Daten zu speichern.

Sie haben noch keinen Zugang und keine Handysignatur?

Hier können Sie sich anmelden. Bitte folgen Sie den dort angegebenen Anweisungen und Informationen.



Alternativ: Der Klimabonus kommt als Gutschein per Post

Wenn Sie kein Konto haben? Dann bekommen Sie den Klimabonus nach Hause geschickt. Der sicherste Weg ist der RSa-Brief. Der RSa-Brief wird nur an Sie persönlich übergeben oder kann mit einem Lichtbildausweis in der Postfiliale abgeholt werden.

Wenn Sie einen Gutschein erwarten, jedoch öfters nicht daheim sein sollten, gibt es einen Weg, um sich den Weg in die Post-Geschäftsstelle zu ersparen: Erteilen Sie einer volljährigen Person in Ihrem Haushalt die Vollmacht, den Klimabonus für Sie entgegenzunehmen.

  1. Füllen Sie dazu das Klimabonus Vollmacht Formular aus.
    Wichtig: Ausweis-Infos und Unterschrift nicht vergessen!
  2. Verwahren Sie die Vollmacht daheim an einem sicheren Ort, wo sie griffbereit ist.
  3. Wenn der/die Zusteller*in mit dem Klimabonus kommt, muss die bevollmächtigte Person einfach nur die von Ihnen unterzeichnete Vollmacht und den Ausweis herzeigen, um den Klimabonus für Sie entgegenzunehmen.

Für den Fall, dass der/die Zusteller*in niemanden zuhause antrifft, wird der Klimabonus sicher bei der nächsten Post-Geschäftsstelle hinterlegt und Sie erhalten in diesem Fall eine Information, wo Sie ihn abholen können.

Achtung: Hier kann der Klimabonus nur persönlich abgeholt werden. Die Vollmacht ist hier nicht gültig.

Die Gutscheine können vom Supermarkt bis zur Bücherei bei tausenden Geschäften eingelöst werden oder bei unserem Bankpartner in Bargeld abgelöst werden.

Wo genau, das erfahren Sie hier:

Einlösestellen

Hier können Sie nach Einlösestellen in Ihrer Umgebung oder bestimmten Geschäften suchen. Die Suche erfolgt in der Datenbank von Sodexo. Dafür muss Ihre Anfrage an Sodexo übermittelt werden.

Nähere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Sie haben ein Geschäft oder einen Betrieb und wollen Akzeptanzpartner des Klimabonus Gutscheins werden?

Unter folgendem Link können Sie Ihr Unternehmen als Einlösestelle registrieren lassen:

Sodexo Registrierung

So viel gibt's

Der Klimabonus beträgt im Jahr 2022 für Erwachsene 500€ und für Kinder bis zum 18. Lebensjahr 250€.

Bei diesem Betrag handelt es sich um eine einmalige, pauschale Erhöhung des Klimabonus aufgrund der aktuellen Inflation und den folglich steigenden Preisen.

Auch in den kommenden Jahren wird jede und jeder mit Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich einen Klimabonus erhalten. Bei nicht-österreichischen Staatsbürger:innen ist ein rechtmäßiger Aufenthaltsstatus (gem KliBG §2) nötig. Ab 2023 wird die Höhe des Bonus vom Hauptwohnsitz abhängig sein, so wie ursprünglich geplant.

Weitere Informationen zur regionalen Staffelung finden Sie bei Fragen und Antworten.

Sie haben noch Fragen?

Kontakt

Für individuelle Anfragen steht Ihnen unser Service Team zur Verfügung. Wir weisen darauf hin, dass die Kontaktaufnahme auf Deutsch erfolgt.

0800 8000 80
Montag - Freitag, 08.00 - 18.00 Uhr

Kontakt